Shut Up and Dance   8 comments

When God showered the world with great singing talent, I was obviously busy sleeping, or probably eating. Bottom line is, I’m a bad singer. I can’t carry a tune. I sing with my throat and not with my lungs.

Nevertheless, I can call myself a pretty good dancer. I’m not the best dancer in the world but I basically know how to dance gracefully. Way back in elementary and high school, I always get invited to dance for different school activities. Once, I was even front and center during our cheering competition. But as years pass by, I gained weight, and lost opportunities to hone my dancing skills more. I still know how to dance but has reached my peak, I guess. I still dance every now and then but when I’m alone or partying.

Anyway, enough about me. Now what does my introduction have anything to do with my main post? Well it’s because I’ll be listing 15 music videos with great choreographies. I limited one music video per artist so as much as I’d love to bombard it with Michaels, and Janet’s, and Madonna’s, I decided to spread the wealth. πŸ™‚

15. MY LOVE IS LIKE WHOA (Mya)

Mya has never been known as a solo artist, but this 2003 single showed her versatility as a dancer, in this eye candy video with lots of costume changes, poll dancing, and tap dancing to boot.

14. I’M A SLAVE 4 U (Britney Spears)

This video does not contain Britney hugging a yellow python on her shoulders, but the choreography is insanely hot and sensual. Definitely Britney at her prime.

13. VOGUE (Madonna)

It has been a tough choice whether I’ll go with this or her cowboy-inspired “Don’t Tell Me” but this one trupms the latter by a hair. This video is iconic for many reasons, and it’s choreography is one of them.

12. CHASING PAVEMENTS (Adele)

Who knew that a heartbreaking ballad like this one can incorporate a good amount of choreography in its music video. Floor routines have never been as bittersweet as this one.

11. SO PURE (Alanis Morissette)

Probably her most choreographed music video, it only took Alanis two minutes and 49 seconds to show us how a versatile dancer she is.

10. AROUND THE WORLD (Daft Punk)

Others might see it as repetitive and robotic, but hey it’s Daft Punk we’re talking about! Imagine doing four different dances and incorporating it in one video? Choreography genius! πŸ™‚

9. THRILLER (Michael Jackson)

Another music video artist, the late, great Michael Jackson proved that even a video 27 years ago can still kick ass with its choreography especially with this thirteen-minute version.

8. I’M GLAD (Jennifer Lopez)

J.Lo wet and wild doing her own Jennifer Beals-Flashdance tribute. Geri Halliwell, take some notes.

7. MY LOVE (Justin Timberlake featuring T.I)

JT, at one point in his career, was called as the next Michael Jackson. And I’m pretty sure it’s about his great dancing skills and smooth choreography as shown here. Let’s just hope this does not involve young boys and babies in windows.

6. IT’S OH SO QUIET (Bjork)

Reminiscent of different movie musicals where in the protagonist was walking down the street and everyone just generously wasted their time joining her in a big street number, Bjork definitely nailed this one.

5. SINGLE LADIES (PUT A RING ON IT) (Beyonce)

Kanye West stormed a naive Taylor Swift and announced this as the best video of all time. Pretty much exaggerated but anything that highlights Beyonce’s great dancing skills and not being disturbed by her lechon hips is a plus in my book.

4. RHYTHM NATION (Janet Jackson)

Before J.Lo, and Britney, there was Janet. And this military inspired music video shows Janet at her best. This is definitely one of the best dance videos ever.

3. DO IT AGAIN (Shakira)

Even though we’re already aware that her hips don’t lie, Shakira definitely did it again in this video that gives a new meaning to the concept of bed scene.

2. HERE IT GOES AGAIN (OK Go)

Probably the most creative use of aΒ treadmill in a music video ever, OK Go’s choreography is catchy and playful. I bet lots of people tried to attempt this after this came out.

1. WEAPON OF CHOICE (Fatboy Slim)

It does not take a great dancer to have an awesome and memorable choreography. You can have Christopher Walken strolling an empty hotel at night, and boom = BEST CHOREOGRAPHY IN A MUSIC VIDEO. Try to watch the video in reverse and you’ll realize that it’s even cooler than the original video. πŸ™‚

There you have it folks, get your dancing shows now and start to groove. Haha. Good night! πŸ™‚

8 responses to “Shut Up and Dance

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. CHASING PAVEMENTS!!! I LOVE THAT MUSIC VIDEO!! One of my favorites! πŸ™‚

  2. Ang ganda nung music video diba? πŸ™‚

  3. NICE list. panalo. inspired by Her Morning Elegance ang Chasing Pavements!

    eisen genuino monteverde
  4. Aww thanks Lolo! Ayan chineck ko, oo nga ano? πŸ™‚

    At pwedeng mamatay sa Eisen Genuino Monteverde.

  5. Pero Lolo diba nauna ang Chasing Pavements sa Her Morning Elegance?

  6. 2007 pa un eh. baka nga hindi. haha. sori. pero 2009 lang naging popular dahil sa youtube.

    eisen genuino monteverde
  7. Aww cool. Napanood ko na nga. Ayos! May nakalimutan ba ako? Hahaha.

  8. Yung sa iyo ni sarah geronimo nalimutan mo. hahaha. ganda ng choreo nun! parang nagsasampay ng damit!

    eisen genuino monteverde

Leave a Reply

