Elephant Love Medley   3 comments

“The greatest thing you’ll ever learn is just to love and be loved in return.”

– Christian

So today is a personal milestone for me because it has been a decade since one of my favorite movies of all time was released. MOULIN ROUGE! Now I feel so old because I was just Grade 5 when I first heard of this movie. Back then, I wasn’t too fond of the movies yet. I just knew this one because I know that Nicole Kidman plays the lead character (I always put her as my favorite actress because she has the same name as mine) and that Christina Aguilera and her girls sang Lady Marmalade which was one of the soundtracks of this film.

The first time I saw this film, it was way back in sixth grade, and I simply just fell in love with it. I remember watching that year’s Oscars when it was nominated for Best Picture, and Nicole Kidman for Best Actress as the beautiful hooker Satine. I don’t know anything about the Oscars yet but I keep on rooting for the movie everytime it was nominated. And boy was I disappointed when Halle Berry won. I thought that Nicole Kidman deserved that fair and square as she gets to sing, dance, and sizzle in her Satine performance. And her character entrance is one of the best I’ve seen in my whole movie-watching experience.

I remember in my DEVC50 class, we were asked to do a play about sharing the scientific explanation of the myth, and I f I remember it correctly, our group was tasked to explain the occurrence of the eclipse. And there’s no better way to explain that than… portraying an Elephant Love Medley where the sun and the moon decided to go near each other for one night (in the name of love… HAHAHA). I played the sun or the moon, I actually can’t remember.

What made me fell in love with the movie aside form the wonderful art direction is that it managed to bring a simple love story such flavor and passion that I was instantly affected. And oh, it’s a musical! I remmeber reading articles that it will always be remembered as the movie that brought back the musicals in Hollywood, probably since the Cabaret and Victor/Victoria days.

I probably have watched this for over thirty times and I still don’t get tired of doing so. I probably know all the lines in the movie already. LOL. My former college roommate, JM, is also a big fan of the movie and we used to play Elephant Love Medley and we reenact scenes from the movie in our room. My friend, Ive, is also a big fan of the movie and we used to cast ourselves as the characters in the movie. I always get the role of  Harold Zidler because we’re both fat, AND manipulative. LELZ. Ive is the fat Mome Fromage who helps Satine after she first fainted. Des will be Nini Legs-in-the-Air because they have the same bangs. And JM gets the highly coveted role of Satine.

Going by these memories, it made me realize how big a fan I am. It’s probably because it managed to tell a simple story of love and made it interesting and magical for the next two hours. It made me believe in truth, beauty, freedom, and above all things, LOVE. And with that, I’ll definitely celebrate its decade of existence by watching this today! 🙂

Posted June 1, 2011 by Nicol Latayan in Films

Tagged with , , , ,

3 responses to “Elephant Love Medley

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bakit ako naiiyak? I’m so proud of Moulin Rouge! It made a drastic changed my life. Made me appreciate eccentricity and all. Namimiss ko na rin ang Elephant Love Medley spoofs natin. lalo na yung “Why would the courtesan go over the Maharajah for a penniless writer. WHOOPS. I mean Sitah playah.” I love Moulin Rouge! Thanks for this Nicol! 🙂

  2. Andami nating memories sa Moulin Rouge, Jame! Shet pakielam naman ni Baz Luhrmann sa atin diba pero I’m soooooo in love with the film! At alam kong ikaw din! Hahaha! Let’s celebrate a decade of magic and eccentricity! 🙂

  3. Hayy I can watch this movie over and over too!

Leave a Reply

