30 Day Film Challenge: Day 15   4 comments

DISCLAIMER: This tends to be emo. Dramatic paragraphs ahead.

DAY 15: The Film That Depicts Your Life – Lost in Translation (Sofia Coppola, 2003)

Okay so I’m halfway already in this film challenge, and I hope that I’m already employed by the time I finish this.

Anyway, I choose this film because I can relate to the loneliness of the characters. Obviously, I’m not in Tokyo, nor a has been actor but I can relate to Bob’s sadness. The feeling that at the end of the day, your’e still alone and no matter what happens during the daytime, you will still end up alone, and unfortunately, lonely. It also discusses relationships but on a more general level; not just the romantic relationships but the one you have with yourself. Movies exploring the journey of life get plus points in my book.

Murray gets plus points with his flawless portrayal of a flawed Bob. And I will never understand people who claim this is just a borefest. What did you expect? Somehow, it can be considered as a study of life’s reactionaries. I doubt a 30 year life of existence can be fully displayed in a 120 minute film. So boohoo nayers!

Posted July 5, 2011 by Nicol Latayan in 30 Day Film Challenge

Tagged with

4 responses to “30 Day Film Challenge: Day 15

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is <3! ang emo naman. hehehe

    eisen genuino monteverde
  2. Ano ba nagdisclaimer naman ako! Hahaha! Yeah, this is <3. Between this and The Hours, mahilig din pala ako sa borefests. Hahaha.

  3. Sobrang nalungkot din ako dito. Can relate? Hahaha.
    FYI, I like your blog 😛

  4. Pareho tayong nakarelate, Teenay! Hahaha! Diba ang ganda naman? And thanks by the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

