30 Day Film Challenge: Day 20   Leave a comment

DAY 20: Your Favorite Romantic Film – Love Story (Arthur Hiller, 1970)

Love means never having to say you’re sorry.

Yeah so it can be as formulaic and dated as it can be, but it was sure damn effective. This is probably the root of all love stories that gave us a premise that love can survive even after one of the lovers die. It was romantic, yet it was tragic. It showed us that love can be of many layers. It wasn’t only a love story between a man and a woman. It was a story of love that exists among many kinds of people. I know I sound as if I’m an encyclopedia vendor trying my hell best to sell the movie for you but actually I don’t. What I’m getting at is that it gets through you.

It’s easy to dismiss this film but when my cousin recommended me to watch it, I look it up and found that it won 5 Golden Globes, and got Oscar nominations for the two lead stars (and a supporting actor), the director, screenplay, original score, and Best Picture. So I’m pretty sure I’m not alone in liking this one. 🙂

Posted July 10, 2011 by Nicol Latayan in 30 Day Film Challenge

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

