84th Academy Awards Nominations Analysis (and how did I fare?)   Leave a comment

Last night, the nominees for the 84th Academy Awards were already revealed, and once again, we were left with shocking gasps and surprises. While most of the expected did actually happen, it’s the shocking snubs and surprising inclusions that got a lot of people talking. Anyway, here’s a rundown of those who are vying for the golden naked man come February 26:

BEST PICTURE
“The Artist”
“The Descendants”
“Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close”
“The Help”
“Hugo”
“Midnight in Paris”
“Moneyball”
“The Tree of Life”
“War Horse”

How did I fare: 7/9
Notable snubs: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Bridesmaids, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Talk about surprises, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close still made the line up for Best Picture after missing everything (literally everything) except the BFCA. Everything else were just the same old predictions though aside from Extremely Loud, I wasn’t able to include Tree of Life, as I felt the Academy will solely focus on the major films that got guild support. I’m happiest for War Horse, just because I stick with it despite a lot of people underestimating it.

BEST DIRECTOR
Michel Hazanavicius, “The Artist”
Alexander Payne, “The Descendants”
Martin Scorsese, “Hugo”
Woody Allen, “Midnight in Paris”
Terrence Malick, “The Tree of Life”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: David Fincher (Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), Bennett Miller (Moneyball), Steven Spielberg (War Horse)

So my NGNG prediction of Nicolas Winding Refn didn’t pay off (Yes I know how much they hated Drive now), but this is the actual and safe group of five that the Academy will really go with. Terrence Malick, like his film Tree of Life, is a very polarizing choice, so those who loved it (in the words of Sally Field) really really loved it. Happiest the most for Woody Allen, as he gets another Directorial nod. Imagine how epic it is for Hazanavicius and Payne to be nommed alongside Scorsese, Allen, and Malick.

BEST ACTOR
Demián Bichir, “A Better Life”
George Clooney, “The Descendants”
Jean Dujardin, “The Artist”
Gary Oldman, “Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy”
Brad Pitt, “Moneyball”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Michael Fassbender (Shame), Leonardo di Caprio (J. Edgar), Michael Shannon (Take Shelter)

While I knew it that the British bloc will go for Gary Oldman and not Michael Fassy, his miss still stings. Bichir came a long way from a supporting actor in Weeds to Oscar nominated actor of A Better Life. The SAG really sealed the deal here. I wonder what the fuss about Leo di Caprio missing is (though I did predict him), but I’m happy he missed because he has no chance in hell in winning, and I don’t want him to enter the Peter O’Toole territory yet with 0 wins and 4 noms. I’m happiest the most for Gary Oldman who finally can add Oscar nominee to his credentials. Talk about a long and overdue first nomination.

BEST ACTRESS
Viola Davis, “The Help”
Glenn Close, “Albert Nobbs”
Rooney Mara, “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
Meryl Streep, “The Iron Lady”
Michelle Williams, “My Week With Marilyn”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Tilda Swinton (We Need to Talk About Kevin), Charlize Theron (Young Adult), Kirsten Dunst (Melancholia)

And Rooney (Mara, not Ricketts) makes it. Probably the biggest surprise since Laura Linney in The Savages, as she reaped a Globe nod as her only precursor. It’s sad that it’s at the expense of mommy dearest Tilda Swinton who reaped all (YES, ALL!) major awards precursors and even a critics win for We Need to Talk About Kevin. And though it has more to do with the subject of the film, it still stings especially since Cate Blanchett made it with less precursors in 2007. And a big I TOLD YOU SO to those who doubted Glenn Close. Academy has a hard on with a gender bender role of an Oscarless actress who’s working doubly (even triply) on her passion project. Still sad that Queen Charlize isn’t here (I’m fanboying myself with her much because Legend Kidman isn’t available this year).

BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR
Kenneth Branagh, “My Week With Marilyn”
Jonah Hill, “Moneyball”
Nick Nolte, “Warrior”
Christopher Plummer, “Beginners”
Max Von Sydow, “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Albert Brooks (Drive), Armie Hammer (J. Edgar), Ben Kingsley (Hugo)

Talk about loving ’em legends, Max von Sydow surprisingly received his second acting Oscar nomination in this year’s surprise Best Picture nominated film. Glad I stick with Jonah Hill (as many leaving him were more of their personal biases against the actor) and Nick Nolte (who I’ve always felt was a sure contender). Ben Kingsley’s surprise nod didn’t actually materialize, and Albert Brooks was left driving in the cold. Guess that SAG + BAFTA miss is something I’ll consider next time.

BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
Bérénice Bejo, “The Artist”
Jessica Chastain, “The Help”
Melissa McCarthy, “Bridesmaids”
Janet McTeer, “Albert Nobbs”
Octavia Spencer, “The Help”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Shailene Woodley (The Descendants), Vanessa Redgrave (Coriolanus), Carey Mulligan (Shame)

I already predicted that it would be Shailene missing the cut (refer to the SAG + BAFTA miss by Albert Brooks), but since I love that performance, I decided to stick with it til the end. And it’s officially Academy Award nominee Melissa McCarthy. I never thought that the Academy will go for this, and while I adore McCarthy (she seems to be the sweetest and most genuine actresses ever), I don’t feel she’s type five worthy. However, I’m not annoyed by her nomination.

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY
“The Artist”
“Bridesmaids”
“Margin Call”
“Midnight in Paris”
“A Separation”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: 50/50, Young Adult, Take Shelter

Call it the Joseph Gordon Levitt curse, but it seems as if his films which has great screenplays always miss the cut. First, it was the very good written 500 Days of Summer in 2009, and now 50/50. However, this is a very tricky category, and among the first time features, it was Margin Call who got the nod. I guess I must watch it ASAP. Happiest the most for A Separation, as it is my favorite film of the year, and one of the reasons why it is such is because of its very haunting screenplay.

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY
“The Descendants”
“Hugo”
“The Ides of March”
“Moneyball”
“Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: The Help, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Talk about a surprise, I thought The Help is a sure thing for this, but surprisingly, George and his friends managed to squeak in a single nod for The Ides of March. The Help, overall underperformed with nominations, as this should have been an easy nomination for them. I’m happiest the most for Jim Rash (Community’s Dean Pelton) as he’s now an Oscar nominated screenplay.

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE 
“A Cat in Paris”
“Chico and Rita”
“Kung Fu Panda 2”
“Puss in Boots”
“Rango”

How did I fare: 2/5
Notable misses: Adventures of Tintin, Arthur Christmas

And boy did I suck when it comes to animated features. Probably, it has something to do with me not being a fan of them. Biggest surprise is Globe and PGA winner Adventures of Tintin, but I guess it’s more of the academy’s bias against motion capture format. I’ve also learned that Animated Feature is the extension of the Foreign Language Film, as two FLF got nominated this year. So when in doubt, go foreign. LELZ. And yes, it’s proven that Pixar is not bulletproof here, as proven by the Cars 2 snub.

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM
“Bullhead” – Belgium
“Monsieur Lazhar” – Canada
“A Separation” – Iran
“Footnote” – Israel
“In Darkness” – Poland

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Germany’s Pina

I did well here, though I missed Belgium’s Bullhead because I went safe and predicted Germany’s Pina both here and in the documentary feature. I’m interested the most to see Israel’s Footnote, but of course, my loyalty remains with Iran’s A Separation. Here’s hoping it won’t be jinxed ala Amelie and Pan’s Labyrinth.

BEST ART DIRECTION
“The Artist”
“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2”
“Hugo”
“Midnight in Paris”
“War Horse”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Missed Midnight in Paris, and yes, it deserves the nomination! oh boy did I love the art direction of that m0vie. That’s a big and very welcome surprise!

BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
“The Artist”
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
“Hugo”
“The Tree of Life”
“War Horse”

How did I fare: 5/5
Notable misses: None? Hahaha.

Hurray to the only category that I predicted perfectly. Here’s hoping the overdue Emmanuel Lubezki finally wins one for his superb work on Tree of Life.

BEST COSTUME DESIGN
“Anonymous”
“The Artist”
“Hugo”
“Jane Eyre”
“W.E.”

How did I fare: 3/5
Notable misses: The Help, War Horse, My Week with Marilyn

Very surprising category as W.E made a showing instead of Best Picture nominees The Help and The Horse, and the outlandish costumes of Marilyn Monroe and Margaret Thatcher. Once again, Academy loves ’em pieces as Jane Eyre earned an expected yet deserving nomination.

BEST EDITING
“The Artist”
“The Descendants”
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
“Hugo”
“Moneyball”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: War Horse

I was considering including The Descendants in the list as most BP contenders (apparently) are also the best edited films of the year. But since I don’t know which to remove, I stick with War Horse. Glad to be wrong though, as this is a vital award for all BP winners.

BEST MAKE UP
“Albert Nobbs”
“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2”
“The Iron Lady”

How did I fare: 2/3
Notable misses: Gainsbourg, J. Edgar, Hugo

I thought Hugo can sweep a filler nomination here, but it seems that Glenn Close’s gender bender role sealed a third nomination for Albert Nobbs.

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE
“The Adventures of Tintin”
“The Artist”
“Hugo”
“Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy”
“War Horse”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Very much surprise that despite the guild love and being the current winners in this category, Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross failed to receive a back to back noms for Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Instead, they went with Alberto Iglesias in Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.

BEST ORIGINAL SONG
“Man or Muppet” from “The Muppets”
“Real in Rio” from “Rio”

How did I fare: 0/2
Notable misses: Uhm almost everything?

Wow talk about a disgrace. Just when everyone’s mad for having only four nominees last year, there comes two this year. What is happening here? Please fix this, Academy.

BEST SOUND EDITING
“Drive”
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
“Hugo”
“Transformers: Dark of the Moon”
“War Horse”

How did I fare: 3/5
Notable misses: Rise of the Planet of the Apes, Super 8

I actually don’t know what to judge here, but I’m happy that at least someone noticed Drive. My goodness. That movie deserves a nomination. If Norbit can get one, it must get too.

BEST SOUND MIXING
“The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo”
“Hugo”
“Moneyball”
“Transformers: Dark of the Moon”
“War Horse”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Drive, Super 8, Rise of the Planet of the Apes

I knew Moneyball will get in here, and I’m happy it paid off. Shocked there’s no animated film nominated in both of the Sound categories.

BEST VISUAL EFFECTS
“Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 2”
“Hugo”
“Real Steel”
“Rise of the Planet of the Apes”
“Transformers: Dark of the Moon”

How did I fare: 4/5
Notable misses: Tree of Life, Captain America

Now this is the substitute for the box office film award. I can’t believe the Academy passed over Tree of Life. There were dinosaurs in the film! DINO-FUCKING-SAURS!

BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE
“Hell and Back Again”
“If a Tree Falls: The Story of the Earth Liberation Front”
“Paradise Lost 3: Purgatory”
“Pina”
“Undefeated”

How did I fare: 3/5
Notable misses: Project Nim, Semper Fi

Surprised to get three of this, especially since the only sure thing here is Pina.

BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT SUBJECT
“The Barber of Birmingham: Foot Soldier of the Civil Rights Movement”
“God is the Bigger Elvis”
“Incident in New Baghdad”
“Saving Face”
“The Tsunami and the Cherry Blossom”

How did I fare: 4/5

God knows how I did well in this category. I have no idea.

BEST ANIMATED SHORTS
“Dimanche/Sunday”
“The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore”
“La Luna”
“A Morning Stroll”
“Wild Life”

How did I fare: 4/5

Once again, God knows how I did well in this category. I have no idea.

BEST LIVE ACTION SHORT
“Pentecost”
“Raju”
“The Shore”
“Time Freak”
“Tuba Atlantic”

How did I fare: 2/5

God told me I can only be lucky twice. Three is too much. Hahaha.

Overall here are my stats:

My Stats
35/44 in the big eight categories
77/104 in the categories everyone tries to predict
87/119 if you include the shorts which many people don’t bother with (but I did well).

How did you fare? 🙂

Posted January 25, 2012 by Nicol Latayan in Awards

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

