REVIEW: I Do Bidoo Bidoo   1 comment

Homage movies to great Filipino musicians have been on a roll lately. Just a month ago, The Reunion used material from the Eraserheads, and now here comes another one. Chris Martinez’ I Do Bidoo Bidoo featured music from the APO Hiking Society and starred some of the greatest we have in music and the up and coming ones that should be the next big stars in the industry.

When fresh graduate Rock (Sam Concepcion) unexpectedly got his rich girlfriend Tracy (Tippy delos Santos) pregnant, it opened a Pandora’s Box in terms of how their respective families handled it. Both the mothers of the teens are adamant about the rushed wedding plans. The fathers were more tolerant about it, but things got more complicated when Tracy’s grandfather openly said how he does not like the wedding to push through. Chaos, musical numbers, and a blue moon ensues in between.

The movie runs two hours long, and it’s pretty much long by any standard if the premise isn’t really that much complicated. However, it is really hard to complain when it’s the musical numbers that fill in most of the screentime. While there’s a lot that I saw that can be left in the editing room, it’s not that big of a deal to the point that it will make your viewing pleasure be affected with the overlong (and some unnecessary) numbers.

Technical aspects were hit or miss. While the editing was choppy, the production design was really a highlight. Seeing colors left and right is a real visual treat. I also like the details in terms of the sets used. One of my favorite numbers is the Blue Jeans (though I think that it can be shortened) especially since the flash mob and the choreography in here was top notch. As a matter of fact, I’m pretty much impressed with the choreography in this film. I like that it’s not only in the numbers where we see that, but even in blockings and positions of the actors in their scenes.

The acting was also commendable. I bought the relationship between Ogie Alcasid and Eugene Domingo, and the coldness of Gary Valenciano and Zsazsa Padilla. Jaime Fabregas is always a treat especially when he’s given vital characters to play (last I’ve seen him in a vital role is 2010’s Here Comes the Bride). I also like the casting of Eugene Domingo’s friends (Frenchie Dy and Sweet Plantado) as the three possess a real chemistry that was effective. Sam Concepcion showed real star potential here, and I really think that this will probably be his best role to date, though I’m curious where will he go from here. I’m a little adamant about Tippy delos Santos because I’m somewhat annoyed with her character, but she did okay in my book I guess. Neil Coleta was also a surprise mixing combinations of typical gay stereotype portrayals and the closeted persona he had.

If anything, the movie’s primary strength lies within how the director and the writer really collaborated to work the APO songs into the story of the movie. This is a win-win mutualism scenario as both benefited from each other; thus, it is not really hard to fall in love with this endearing entertaining film.

Rating: 3.5 /5

One response to “REVIEW: I Do Bidoo Bidoo

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: I Do Bidoo Bidoo « Pinoy Rebyu

Leave a Reply

