Tit for Tat Film Awards History: Best Lead Actress   13 comments

Completing the acting circle for my Tit for Tat history awards, I’ll be posting my best actress winners from 1995 up to 2011. As you may have known, I already revealed my picks for supporting actress, supporting actor and lead actor the past few weeks, and it’s time to do the last of the four acting categories. For 2012, I picked Rachel Weisz as my top winner for her poignant take in The Deep Blue Sea. Here are seventeen performances worth of Best Actress wins in my book. 🙂

1995

1996

 

1997

1998

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

2009

2010

2011

As a recap, here are the complete winners for the Best Lead Actress category at my Tit for Tat Film Awards:

1995: Meryl Streep, “The Bridges of Madison County
1996: Emily Watson, “Breaking the Waves
1997: Judi Dench, “Mrs. Brown
1998: Cate Blanchett, “Elizabeth
1999: Hilary Swank, “Boys Don’t Cry
2000: Bjork, “Dancer in the Dark
2001: Nicole Kidman, “Moulin Rouge!
2002: Isabelle Huppert, “The Piano Teacher
2003: Charlize Theron, “Monster
2004: Nicole Kidman, “Birth
2005: Felicity Huffman, “Transamerica
2006: Penelope Cruz, “Volver
2007: Marion Cotillard, “La Vie en Rose
2008: Sally Hawkins, “Happy Go Lucky
2009: Tilda Swinton “Julia
2010: Jennifer Lawrence, “Winter’s Bone
2011: Anna Paquin, “Margaret
2012: Rachel Weisz, “The Deep Blue Sea

Who are your own personal picks among lead actress performances? Add them here below! :)

And as always, you can follow me on Twitter: @nikowl

Posted April 24, 2013 by Nicol Latayan in Films, Tit for Tat Awards

13 responses to “Tit for Tat Film Awards History: Best Lead Actress

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Winslet, Blanchett, Streep and perhaps Michelle Williams are always excellent to watch. But the best character actor in mainstream films out there is definitely Tilda Swinton. Good list!

    • Thank you! Swinton, Streep, Kidman, Cotillard, and Cruz are probably my favorites. Though I have always acknowledged the talent of Winslet, Blanchett, Williams, Theron etc. 🙂

  2. As with Tilda Swinton (also excellent in “I Am Love” and “We Need to Talk About Kevin), Charlize Theron makes very daring choices as an actress. You’re welcome! Cheers.

    • I’m starting to appreciate Charlize more now especially after Young Adult (which I think was her comeback). After Monster, I don’t think she can still deliver a performance of that caliber, but Young Adult was really close. And her film choices are getting better too with Prometheus and even the fun role in Snow White and the Huntsman to boot.

  3. Though I think Ellen Burstyn was way ahead of Bjork in 2000, I think this list is excellent and I love your choices in 1998, 2008, and 2010. Jennifer Lawrence was breathtaking in Winter’s Bone. She should have won the Oscar for that instead of in SLP. Jessica Chastain in ZD30 was better. Kudos!

    • Thank you! 🙂

      2000 was really difficult to narrow down to three. I really like Laura Linney, and it was a battle on who to choose between her and Burstyn. Bjork was my sentimental favorite, and while I’m no big fan of Roberts altogether, she captured me in Erin Brockovich and took this movie star performance into a really engaging one. Burstyn was also sensational, though Requiem for a Dream sometimes reminds me of Compliance, a film that has an amazing performance (by Ann Dowd) but watching it was so uncomfortable.

      Thanks for the kind words again!

      • Requiem for a Dream is my favorite movie basta Aronofsky chos. Laura Linney is due for an Oscar!! Pati si Julianne Moore and Michelle Williams. Have you seen The Hours, she was so good there. I also like Eva Green. She was so good in The Dreamers. 😀

      • The Hours is one of those movies that you should let an acting class see. It was just superb. 🙂

    • Yes! I was rooting for Jessica Chastain for best female actor as well… such a shame that Lawrence won for SLP (though not inconceivable considering how it was really post-recognition for the year she competed with Winter’s Bone).

      Laura Linney was utterly heartbreaking in “You Can Count on Me” and I love watching her on screen!

  4. I really love the multiple Nicole Kidman mentions. She consistently delivers powerful performances, but she is a very underrated actress.

    I also love your 2011 Best Actress lineup because your picks weren’t actually nominated at the Oscars which is a good thing since the nominated actresses that year were meh (Rooney Mara, anyone?).

    • Thanks for the kind words, Keith (Urban? loljk). Nicole Kidman is my favorite actress, so there’s that. But srsly, she’s really one of the underrated ones. She might not have the same number of Oscar nods as Cate/Kate, but she actually deserves to be nominated more.

      And yes, 2011 was such an embarrassment of riches in terms of leading women performance, and it’s sad we’re stuck with that Oscar line up. Granted, I would have given Meryl the win based on that line-up, but there’s a lot of other performances much more deserving than what she did in The Iron Lady. 🙂

  5. I know you love to watch Hispanic movies. Did you see ‘Under The Same Moon’? If you did, what did you think of Kate del Castillo’s performance?

Leave a Reply

